I’m a College Student Against Free Tuition

The conversation surprised me a bit.

While discussing recent political events with a few coworkers, someone made this statement to me.

“I’m surprised you weren’t a Bernie Sanders fan.”

Bernie Sanders.jpg
Bernie Sanders

A little taken back, I replied, “because of his ‘Free College Tuition’ policy? Yeah no. I’m good with paying my own.”

“Oh? Why’s that?”

There are a many good reasons. Let’s start with the most important fact.

There is no such thing as “free.”

Someone has to pay for everything. There’s no getting around that.

The idea behind “free college” is that the government pays for it. Great! Awesome! The government loves giving out money, right?

But…who pays the government?

Ah yes…the people. Through taxes. That’s we the people paying the government.

Actually, Bernie Sanders would push the extra costs caused by these expenditures onto others.

Just look on his website and notice the 6th point: “Fully Paid For By Imposing a Tax on Wall Street Speculators.”

In essence, he’s shifting the cost of the nation’s college to the businesses and corporations that make up a large portion of the economy.

Has he ever studied economics? Doesn’t he understand that when you impose MORE sanctions and MORE taxes on the businesses of a country, it doesn’t encourage economic growth. It actually harms it.

It also drives the cost of everything higher. Food, products, services, everything.

So who gets the weight of the cost downriver?

Yup. That’s us. The citizens paying taxes.

So essentially, we’re paying for our own college tuition anyway? Cool story bro.

Furthermore, how do you think the concept of “free college” affects young people?

In my experience, when the government offers things to people, two outcomes occur.

  1. Expectancy of “stuff” from the government (entitlement)
  2. Dependency on the government
Disclaimer: I am not speaking in absolutes here. I do not believe this happens ALL the time.

Entitlement

Millennials are often labeled with the stereotype of “entitlement” – that is to say, expecting privileges, services, or products to be handed to them naturally. While I don’t often agree with this stereotype, in the case of college I will, however, cede to society’s expectation of millennials.

College is a privilege that comes through hard work and dedication. I believe that everyone should experience the great educational opportunities that universities offer, but I don’t believe everyone deserves it.

Dependency

When “free handouts” (or free college in this case) becomes the norm, we become dependent on the government for it. That gives the government more control and sway over us.

No, I’m not some kind of government conspiracy theorist, but I’d rather not be looking to outside sources to hand me free stuff.

Because as we all know, “free” things don’t exist. There will always be some kind of fine print or strings attached.

These are a few reasons why I (a college student) am against free college tuition.

 

To quote another college student (who is also against free tuition):

“A college degree is earned, not handed to you.”

 

Leave a Reply

